Skip to content

The Durutti Column \ Domo Arigato [FBN 52 / CD]

Factory Benelux presents an expanded 4x disc edition of Domo Arigato, the acclaimed live album by Manchester ensemble The Durutti Column, recorded in Tokyo in April 1985.

Domo Arigato followed on the heels of ambitious 'modern classical' album Without Mercy a year earlier, and saw composer/guitarist Vini Reilly and percussionist Bruce Mitchell augmented by John Metcalfe on viola and Tim Kellet on trumpet. Their show-cum-recital at the Gotanda Kan'i Hoken Hall on 25 April was recorded digitally and filmed on two 35mm cameras. 'Mixing down was fun,' recalled Durutti manager/mentor Anthony H. Wilson. 'We were on a flight out next morning so Nippon Columbia hired a mobile studio recording truck and we mixed from midnight to 6 a.m.'

In fact the group always considered this somewhat hurried mix imperfect, and so for this greatly expanded 2017 reissue Factory Benelux have returned to the original soundboard tapes and remastered the entire 90 minute performance, in the process restoring the original running order.

Disc 1 of the 4 CD set presents the original digital mix from 1985, while Discs 2 and 3 include the 2017 soundboard remaster plus a previously unreleased gig from Tokyo Loft Club on 29 April 1984. Disc 4 is an NTSC format Region 0 DVD featuring a pristine transfer of the original Japanese laserdisc edition of Domo Arigato, which is the filmed version of the show with the 1985 digital mix.

A double gatefold vinyl edition is also available and contains a bonus 7" single, Dedications for Japan, in a facsimile picture sleeve. The 18 live tracks on the double vinyl format are all taken from the 2017 soundboard remaster and present the entire 1985 show (except for Dream of a Child and Blind Elevator Girl, which for reasons of space appear only on the CD version).

CD+DVD tracklist:

Disc 1 (CD)

1. Sketch for Summer
2. Sketch for Dawn
3. Mercy Theme
4. A Little Mercy
5. Jacqueline
6. Dream of a Child
7. Mercy Dance
8. The Room
9. E.E.
10. Blind Elevator Girl
11. Tomorrow
12. For Belgian Friends
13. The Missing Boy
14. Self Portrait
15. Audience Noise

Disc 2 (CD)

1. Sketch for Summer
2. Sketch for Dawn
3. Party
4. Never Known
5. Mercy Theme
6. A Little Mercy
7. Jacqueline
8. Dream of a Child
9. Mercy Dance
10. A Silence
11. The Room
12. E.E.
13. Pauline
14. Conduct
14. Tomorrow

Disc 3 (CD)

1. Blind Elevator Girl
2. The Beggar
3. For Belgian Friends
4. The Missing Boy
5. Self Portrait
6. Sketch for Dawn
7. Sketch for Summer
8. Jacqueline (1984)
9. Without Mercy (version) (1984)
10. Love Fading (1984)
11. Take Some Time Out/Messidor (1984)
12. Never Known (1984)
13. Dream of a Child (1984)

Disc 4 (DVD)

1. Sketch for Summer
2. Sketch for Dawn
3. A Little Mercy
4. Mercy Dance
5. The Room
6. E.E.
7. Blind Elevator Girl
8. For Belgian Friends
9. The Missing Boy

2xLP + 7" tracklist:

Disc 1

A1. Sketch for Summer
A2. Sketch for Dawn
A3. Party
A4. Never Known
A5. Mercy Theme
A6. Pauline
B1. Jacqueline
B2. Mercy Dance
B3. Tomorrow
B4. For Belgian Friends
B5. Self-Portrait

Disc 2

C1. A Silence
C2. The Room
C3. E.E.
C4. Conduct
D1. Tomorrow
D2. The Beggar
D3. For Belgian Friends
D4. The Missing Boy
D5. Self Portrait

Disc 3 (7")

E1. Love Fading
F1. For Noriko

Available as a 4xCD box and gatefold double vinyl. RELEASE DATE IS APRIL 2017. To order either format please select correct shipping option and click on Add To Cart button below cover image, or else contact FBN by email for other payment methods.

Domo Arigato [FBN 52]
CD box shipping options
Vinyl shipping options